Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7:22 a.m. - May 21, 2002
Doggone it, it rains work
Yesterday went to Stanford to meet with my advisor and went to the little building where my office quarters were and sat in my desk overlooking the patio for a while, thinking about the warmth of the sun and the time I spent at that desk studying, writing articles, and chatting with colleagues. Between the rain the clouds would scatter and the sun came in through the window and like most of my experience in Northern California, was the best of both worlds.

Looking forward to Washington, D.C. and more specifically, the three-day weekends I'll have there. Mulling over drives to the Carolina coast, the train to Boston, and time in the Library of Congress. My laptop should arrive soon and with it I'll combine wandering Jew syndrome with productivity and what else do I need? It will be a great summer, humidity notwithstanding, and between weekend trips and day trips and Smithsonian trips and working on the book and teaching my classes I'll look back and be content.

Been working steadily on the book and I'm seeing progress and inching my way to completion. This is my work, the many hundreds of hours over the past two and a half years coalescing into pages and pages stacked in neat piles on my office floor. I pull out a page and I can almost recall the sound of the keystrokes as I wrote it, or the whirr of the printer or how the weather was outside. When I'm done with this project--we're talking another year, easily--I wonder what I'll do, given how accustomed I am now to working doggedly on a project like this.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!