Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:25 p.m. - July 01, 2002
A happy day is when your T.A. does the teaching and you can nap
Squirrely T.A. delivered the lecture adequately as I sat in the back, obstensibly taking notes on his presentation of the material, but mostly closing my eyes because they are tired. I tried to separate his flamboyancy from the substance but found myself writing several times, Don't wave your hands around so much when referring to the visuals and Don't giggle. Thank God he sped through the material quickly so I could leave as well, and I lied and said I had a meeting when students began to follow. A behind-the-podium glimpse into the life of a college professor. I wonder if I should take this position more seriously, eh? I'm joking, here; I enjoy teaching these courses and enjoy the students and am running with the gravitas, fully aware that they have paid far too much money not to have it worth something. My dean sat in on a lecture Thursday and Friday announced to the department that she found me compelling and precise, sensitive to student needs and in command of the material; this is verbatim from her written comments. I'd scan and post if that didn't seem self-serving, but I was both embarrassed and proud simultaneously. She has already mentioned next summer if I'm not going to stay. My only complaint, in the proto-Jason attempt to dodge or deflect, is that I wish I could see what she's talking about because I thought Thursday was only passable.

Take the compliment, Jason, take it.

I'd like to learn how to accept feedback and not distrust the positive and embrace the negative, misguided as it may be, but which I hold to be gospel truth direct from the burning bush. That's something I need to learn to do.

Another thing I need to do is learn to address matters resolutely.

Take a number.

:::::::::::::::::::

I stopped fighting it this weekend and see what happened, I was both happy and confident, unhappy only when I fought it. I concede to it and commit to giving it a fair shot, not for him but for me, and that is the difference.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!