Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

3:23 a.m. - August 03, 2002
Steam
Always knew the reward for learning French was floating out there:

Office clerk saw an article in French my T.A. copied for me and asked the obvious; replied affirmatively.

Soon, Marti comes up and says,

I heard you speak French?

Yes, I do.

Please, would you read some of that so I can listen to it?

It's an article on the neurology of universal grammar.

Just read some!

So I did.

Any reaction that involves women sighing and putting their hands on me is welcome.

Just now, Marti comes up again and requests I read some more. In her office.

Now Marti, she's a woman that's out of my league--and before you protest too much, picture a snazzy black-tie event with beautiful women gliding across slick floors with alpha males, and then you'll see me, one of the bus boys or waiters who stumbles while carrying glasses. Point being, two separate universes--but damn, when a beautiful woman asks me to read French to her, who am I to say no?

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!