Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7:17 p.m. - August 19, 2002
Fuck me twice and then tell me I'm no good
Was not hired for either position in Washington.

Being professionally unwanted is new for me.

Job A disappeared due to the Democrats that run the state. Job B, well they just don't want me.

I've never not been hired for a job. Which makes me think: I haven't had many jobs. Which makes me think: That's because I've never been turned down for a job. Which makes me think: Doesn't everybody like me?

Guess not.

I will not panic.

I wanted to be back in the classroom. Damn Dems. People, here's some political science 101 (heh... a class that had the misfortune of being a practicum for me in the elementary days of I-didn't-know-what-I-was-doing in front of 50 freshmen.... Were you there, Bathsheba? No, that's right--it was the frizzy-hair, loud chica) and pay close attention. When the economy is flush, Democrats take those dollars and invest in new programs, expand current programs, resuscitate old programs in the rush to create Utopia or at least the Nation on the Hill a la Augustine and proclaim, "We're for you!" Then when the economy burps/collapses/smells like Chinese food in the toilet and there are no more dollars to flush, there are two choices: Deficit spending, or cost-cutting measures. It's economics. It's basic. And in Washington State, the bean counters are fucked.

And so I don't have Job A because school districts must cut 10 percent spending and the first thing to go are foreign languages because no one remembers what music is, and art... well, students need a break during the day, so let's further isolate American students from the other global inhabitants and presto! no more language classes, no need to hire language teachers.

As for Job B, they just plain suck.

Did I say I don't know what to do already?

Excuse me.

I must freak out a bit.

But wait.

Do I not have enough cash saved to tide me over at least 6 months? Haven't I alreay paid the mortgage through November? Don't I have a place I can stay rent-free? Don't I have faith in my skills and my resume and my references to make a blind move sans job?

Pardon me.

Must play mental badminton.

That's a joke, folks. I've never played badminton in my life. That non-sport-sport is for the guys who sit down while they pee (sorry, Mal, couldn't resist).

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!