Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:06 a.m. - September 16, 2002
That new car scent doesn't last long when I'm around
Last night A[deleted]a came by to show off her new car and down the road we went to my secret road in the hills with owls and bats flying overhead and critters scampering out of the way, blinded by her industrial strength brights. She's never had a new-off-the-lot car before and was in good spirits and so was I and as we climbed higher and higher into the hills until finally reaching the valley where you can't see anything other than trees and stars, I thought this is the way it should be for all of us, to get into a car and drive until we're happy.

But that's not why I'm thinking about this today. As we were driving she remarked on some feature of the doors--they lock after the car reaches 8 miles per hour--and I went Oh and thought I'd check to see if the door really was locked. Well, if you open a door, the lock disengages and the door flung open as we were driving and missed a low branch literally by inches, there was a swerve, a deep breath, and the comment, Jason, why do you do things like that in such a bewildered tone that it made me think. Isn't everybody like that, at least just a little? Why do I do things like this, doubting everything until I've checked it out myself? We laughed and laughed because I do things like that often, driving straight instead of turning despite the navigator saying Turn Here because I assume it's Turn Later or Not At All. It's me asking if there's Chinese Chicken Salad when it's not on the menu but I know it used to be. It's me checking the pull curtain on a voting booth despite the sign that says Do Not Pull--Curtain Is Broken and ending up pulling down the entire booth.

Everything's a metaphor.

::::::::::::::::::::

Spec called last night and I was surprised to hear from him. I don't know yet how I feel about this.

That's me thinking too much.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!