Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:04 a.m. - October 21, 2002
Another?
It is nearly noon, I am eating lunch (noodles and spicy peanut sauce), and it is time for another survey.

I like surveys, I admit it. I never enjoyed being on the answering end of questions--usually I turn them around and am the Asker/Listener--but this is therapeutic. So there.

(1) Who is the most amazing woman you know personally?

Superlatives bore me because they're inconsequential, vague, and all too common. The woman I admire most is my sister; perhaps my circle of knowledge is limited, but I don't know many who would gladly take a $30,000 pay cut to switch careers in the middle of a recession, simply to follow her heart. True, her tech company was going downhill and bleeding slowly like sweat oozing from your pores, but she made the transition without any regret or pangs--not even when she received her first check. I admire most those who do what they want, damn the consequences. I suppose we all do that, admire those who do what we wish we could.

(2) What is the best position for sex?

Again, the superlatives. I like it everywhere, except for in the shower. That bothers me.

(3) What's the most difficult confession you've ever had to make?

In fifth grade, I didn't do my report on John F. Kennedy and the Cuban missile crisis entirely by myself. The Encyclopedia Britannica helped considerably, something my teacher overlooked. I remember crying after school and my teacher smiling and giving me the lecture that goes something like "I'm glad you told me" and required me to do two reports. She never told my parents.

(4) What was the best gift you ever gave to someone?

I gave my brother a kidney a while back. OK, I made that up. I'd like to think I give more than material things and have made impressions on people, but that's unlikely. I'm one of those people who have received far more than they give. That bothers me.

(5) What's your favorite film genre?

Hmmm. Not much into movies, sorry. I would have to say horror, but not the blood and guts variety produced since the 80s; I like the psychological thrillers that give me goosebumps. The creepy things.

(6) What's the best way to commit suicide?

Going into a mountain cave and falling asleep one way or another.

(7) What is the most indulgent thing you do each day?

After I shower, shave, and towel off, I rub Cocoa Butter Hand & Body Lotion all over.

(8) What has truly been the most embarrassing moment in your life?

Can't help but think something from childhood. Junior high. PE class. Doing crunches (you know, hands cradling head, raising knees to face). Dead silent. I farted. Loudly. Heh. Memories.

(9) What is the biggest risk you've ever taken?

I don't take risks. I'll do questionable things--bungee jump, drive too fast--but true risks? No can do.

(10) What was the best compliment anybody told you?

I don't listen to compliments. Spec did say once as we hiked around Big Sur that he thought I was the best at what I did and I heard that, but pretended not to hear him.

:::::::::::::

Yeah, this survey was unsatisfactory and unfulfilling, much like Carol Goodman's The Lake of Dead Languages, which I am pleased to announce I've finished and have promptly put in the Donate To Charity box.

::::::::::::::

I'm feeling chatty.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!