Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:39 a.m. - November 24, 2002
Aargh 2 or 3 or 4
Time to print a batch and call it a night, pleased with progress and just how good it feels to inch towards completion, thinking of crisp white cotton sheets and how quiet it is, ready to be done and sleep in tomorrow morning. But no: Printer is not responding.

It is 12:30 in the morning and I have not left this seat aside from piss breaks and miscellaneous stretches since 8:30 a.m. and my printer decides it is ideal at this particular juncture to be pissy? Explain this to me and don't mention Murphy.

Printer printer please respond. I dust you. I wipe you down. All your cables are tagged bright green because I take the time to care. You have plenty of ink. Maybe you're jealous of Mr. Big Bad Fast Laser Printer on the shelf above you? Is that it? Well fuck you if that's the case; no attitude allowed now. If you don't print, you'll be recycled. Think I need you? Hah! Color laser printers are already here, bitch.

(minute later)

Yeah, well, people in real life don't respond to me either, so why should I be surprised not to see this inanimate machine click and whir?

It's too late for this.

My ass is flat. Given that it's big, this is probably a good thing.

Church tomorrow. Printer problem will be solved tomorrow. Manuscript will be mailed tomorrow. Visa payment to be made tomorrow. Walk the dog tomorrow.

Don't forget.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!