Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:30 p.m. - July 21, 2004
Proof copy of Unit One is the locomotive pulling into - or out of? - the station
Barbara-the-Editor just sent me the proof copy of Unit One. It's beautiful. It's mine.

On the surface it's easy to compartamentalize or reduce everything to an academic exercise: Margins too wide; illustrations a shade too small; the color tones complimentary; the font could be bigger. The Editor's cap is on and I divorce myself from the content. What a surprise to be my harshest critic.

And yet there is a frisson of pleasure, a mute clap on the back. I am shy to acknowledge it, but it is present.

I will dissect and note tomorrow; tonight, I'll watch TV but keep the proof copy within sight. It evokes my happy smile, the one nobody sees.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!