Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

5:15 p.m. - December 27, 2004
A scratchy throat
Watching the tsunami coverage on CNN and knowing Alec is one of the tourists who planned on laying on the beach in southern Thailand gives me goosebumps.

Watching the tsunami coverage on CNN and seeing white tourists being airlifted away or carried piggyback on the backs of natives brings to mind the phrase postcolonial tourism. Things don't change, just terminology.

I hope Alec is okay and alive, though I know him only slightly through gay.com.

:::::::::::

It has rained constantly since dawn this morning. I lit a fire and threw pine resin and eucalyptus granules to burn with the logs, filling my house with scent. I've read some, wrote myself a letter, and listened to music while stretched out on the couch in my living room.

The day has passed slowly.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!