Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:19 p.m. - August 27, 2003
Resolved: Jason doesn't hate the IRS, merely the System.
I just wrote the IRS a not-so-huge-as-feared check and not quite ten thousand dollars. After being on the phone with them for nearly an hour and a half, I'll say they're not as ogre-inclined as one may think. The cause? Disallowed deductions in 1999 and a deceased tax preparer.

Did you know that if you use a professional, certified tax preparer who is on record as being your preparer, correspondence is sent to that person regarding tax queries? And did you know should you discontinue those professional services (as I did in 2000) you must notify the IRS by filing a form? And that if you don't, they don't know and you don't know and if the tax preparer dies and nobody knows, you get screwed. I got screwed and most of my savings are flushed and I'm going to be okay, I'm going to be okay.

My first thought after hanging up: Can I afford to eat? Can I afford anything anymore? I'm not penniless but I am bothered when I go below a certain minimum and I am BELOW.

I feel much better, I do, but I'm upset.

Have a better day, eh?

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!