Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:13 p.m. - November 02, 2003
Back up and look for happier reading elsewhere; it is neither my forte nor interest to make you laugh or have you return
Spec wants to meet me in Montreal and I knew not to get quiet, start thinking about last September when he came with me to Florida. How quick I was to forgive when he said I'm getting help because I want to be snatched up too when I say I'm getting help but sometimes help means different things to different people and one must accept, adapt to, or reject that space between understandings. And so I was quiet and he became quiet, and I wondered if he was thinking about the same things, whether he felt or feels guilt or remorse, how sad it makes me to love and be afraid of a guy, how nothing is now as it was intended to be, and how have I come to this point? Quoting Bash� about unintended journeys taking the same path as the intended isn�t comforting me right now.

I told him no and he asked why not and I told him, said I�m afraid of him. I didn�t realize until then how much I�ve changed for him, how I watch what I say, my tone of voice, careful to couch my discourse in non-threatening, non-accusatory statements, please him, make him feel good, so that he won�t mind if I become excited and talk a lot, or when we�re out and I�m walking slow and he becomes impatient when I look at the trees. Indulgence. That is the word; he indulges me and quickly he changes, faults me, becomes angry. Accuses me of becoming even more of a faggot, or coming home while he talks about coming out, admonishes me for hesitating, as if he stands between me and that flamboyant gayhood in the sky. I lost control and he sighed, asked what is it now? and I became angry, said I don�t ever want to stand up in front of a group of people with bruises and a black eye again like last September and when he protested I said this is exactly the point: I don�t trust you not to and he shut up. And I feel like shit for crying then and now, feel like shit for making him cry, because I don�t know what I don�t do right and what the fuck, it�s not me, it�s him. Jesus, did I buy into the victim mentality just now or what? I don�t understand what goes on inside me most of the time because last night when we talked I wanted him to come to Montreal, impressed he mentioned my birthday as a reason to make the effort. He is angry, I am angry. He says I am the most immature person he knows. I think he is right; it is true. I shield myself from people because I don�t want them to see how I am on the inside, how dirty and confused and substanceless. Do I feel bad because he knows my secrets and weaknesses, or because I have them in the first place?

A step back from all of this is in my better interest. Truce? Capitulation? Defeat?

Can�t even think of a quote from T.S. Eliot

I write because I don�t talk to anyone.

I feel like a child who missed the toilet and has to go back to using the Wee-Potty.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!