Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:07 a.m. - May 21, 2003
Just me and my fucked up head
It seems to me more than a little pathetic to write him an email and try to explain, take it back, this weakness highlighted further because I still cannot articulate what was going through my mind last night. I thought that acknowledging this part of me a bit more straightforwardly would

Fuck it.

Take II

I�m not going anywhere on this plateau-cum-rut and while I didn�t announce a binding or directional vision or intent, I decided to see what would avail and I was caught off guard by how simple, how uncomplicated, it is to interact with gay men and say in that quiet voice, Me, too though more often than not I simply nod my head. I dislike saying it, you know? I�m bothered by how seamless integrating � activating? � this side of me has become; I am far less hostile now than I was a few months ago, a year ago, yet each opportunity has me closing the doors and running off. How benign an in-person date followed by telephone conversations, how surprising it is to me to have a gay man list attractive qualities in me � I�m puzzled, doubtful, but there�s a tiny revolution nonetheless deep down in the machineworks � everything hinging on honesty when asked or not asked the question. This plateau is broad and for no reason at all I feel threatened by attention, more threatened by my own fledgling acceptance, threatened when I don�t withdraw my hand, threatened when I say I don�t kiss guys but want to.

I think it�s best to be alone given the circumstances. What the fuck is that supposed to mean? These are my circumstances: People � guys � some guys � find me attractive and interesting despite this ugliness shroud I wear complete with rebuffing personality � and is it too difficult, too impossible, to conceive of possibility? If anything, my circumstances suggest otherwise but there I go again, scurrying off to find a crevice to hide in.

I would think I was playing games but that�s not me. I taste and enjoy, then return to the quotidian. Like having a sip or two of champagne, never a complete flute for me.

I smile my sad smile when I think I�m doomed.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!