Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:08 p.m. - May 10, 2003
Saturday afternoon
Yesterday I lied when asked if I was still working on the Ph.D. at Stanford; I didn�t debate the pros and cons of truth-telling but simply replied in the affirmative. And afterward I thought about the origin of this shame I feel for dropping out � again � and realized it is shameful and that is that.

I look at people all around me doing their thing and I wonder to myself how and when my mechanisms began to slow and cease and it became a challenge to remember directions, to return telephone calls, to focus and function with zeal.

It is shameful to me because it isn�t as if I decided grad school wasn�t for me and fell back on other pleasures, replaced x with y. School was my everything and I�ve replaced it with nothing; my hands lay by my side and I�m uninterested in moving them.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!