Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7:58 a.m. - January 27, 2004
One down (yesterday), one up (today): Call it what you will, these are the times I'm reminded to have faith
Opened my inbox and found this. It made me cry. Damn, what a way to start the morning. In a good way, very very very good way:

Dear Jason ----,

My name is TJ ----, I was a student at ---------- High School and I was also your student for two years in 1999-2001 for ASL and English. I would like to thank you for all your hard work with me in both classes. I happened to run across your name while i was surfing the web and found "[ ]" by Jason -----. I was wondering how your book came together, i mean with the input from my class and everything. Also I was wondering how you are doing in general. I am now attending the University of Arizona in Tucson. I haven't really brushed up on my ASL lately so I'm afraid to try and communicate with people in ASL. Do you remember how you convinced me to stay in school and not give up or go to continuation? I never got the chance to say thank you because you changed my life. You convinced me and my parents that I could handle your classes and college and I will never forget the impact you have had on my life. My younger brother, I don't think you knew him, is also planning to go to college. You taught me to look at things differently instead of limiting myself to what I thought I could do. When I see deaf people signing or pick up a book I think of you and if you remember me you know I hated to read before I had you as a teacher. Hope all is well.

-TJ ------

The thing is, I remember every one of my students. I'll write him an email in response.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!