Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:15 a.m. - December 03, 2002
I'm coming undone, set for completion Thursday
My mother sent an email this morning informing me of her arrival and plans to stay at my abode through the 15th. Initial reaction was to deny receiving the email and hand her off to my sister but let's face it, I have guest bedrooms (one with a bed, but don't let anybody else know that) and how harmful can it be?

Selfish, yes. She's my mother, her sister died, I can be generous and open and not worry about her snooping into my things. She is the type that will remark on the way linen closets are organized, the one kitchen tile misaligned imperceptible to any but her, where I store cleaning supplies (laundry room cabinet above washer). She will remark (again) on the lack of drapes or curtains and furniture; she will ask What's wrong with you?

I will take her out to dinner and buy her favorite salad dressing; I will go to the funeral and not make comments about disagreeable family members. I will be pleasant polite calm and think magnanimity, magnanimity, magnanimity until she leaves. Perhaps will play Scrabble and ask her to make latkes. Tis the season, you know.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!