Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:42 p.m. - February 13, 2002
Itis
Psst. I have a secret.

I've had enough with the Holocaust and Never Forget.

There is a proposal before the school board requesting that the Holocaust be taught in all disciplines and I for one am disinclined to submit. I do not understand why the Holocaust takes precedence over much more recent examples of man's inhumanity to man, and the argument that the sheer barbarity of the concentration camps or the government's organization of murder is sepiacolored next to Rwanda or Yugoslavia or Cambodia.

Rebellious thoughts flit. If the Cambodians were white, would we insist on teaching about Pol Pot and his killing fields with the same intensity as those who push the Holocaust?

Is there an axiomatic relationship between Holocaust fatigue and anti-semitism? I wonder if I'm classified with the Aryan Nation or revisionist historians now that I've aired my Holocaustitis. It's a dirty little secret.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!