Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:28 p.m. - February 20, 2002
It's all about commodities
Playing tag with teaching positions in Washingon is pissing me off. One school district requested my vita so I sent it off dutifully and then today received an email from the human resources woman saying that they're looking for a _less qualified_ instructor. Do I have the right to be pissed or what?

That's the problem with the education establishment today; while not to disparage teachers, the majority in my opinion simply shouldn't be there. Run schools like a business and we'd see results--what do I mean by this? Get teachers and students to see education as a commodity with market worth and chop chop get to it instead of running around saying scores are low and schools abysmal because of reasons x, y, and z. What happens if you're late to work a few times in a row? Unemployment line for you. What happens if you don't do well in your position? You don't get advanced. What happens in the public schools aside from jack shit? You get rewarded for doing nothing at all while little Susie Mbini in Africa and Johnny Patel in India pay dearly for the opportunities wasted here daily by the fungi and pond algae.

Too rough on students? Shit, they get to McDonald's and the Olive Garden on time, right? They know when the lunch bell rings because they've packed up and are qeued with seconds to spare. The thing is, we don't place enough trust in students to achieve and they live up to our expectations.

So I'm overqualified for this school district. Well pull it out bitch and bite me and take the state school lost soul who thinks teaching will be fun and save you a few pennies and rest on your laurels and hope that poison sets in and you live just long enough to say Damn Wish I Hired Him.

But enough of that.

I'm being hard on my students today.

Can you tell?

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!