Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:10 a.m. - March 13, 2002
On praxis and free agency
Taking a sick day and isn't it surprising to note that as soon as I make my sub-request calls at 5:30 a.m. I start feeling less achy? If it wasn't for the constant trips down the hallway to the bathroom I'd think it was hyperbolic cough cough achy bones upset stomach pounding head.

On a sick day I'm busier than usual: There's the bathroom to clean, laundry to wash, maybe iron a shirt or two instead of throwing them into the dryer each morning for dewrinklezation, work on my book, grade papers, take my car in for its tune-up, go to the beach to sit in the spray and make sanddrifts with my feet, mow the lawn and breathe in the scent of clippered grass coming through my sparkling windows that I scoured prior to mowing.

I don't think so.

:::::::::::::::::

Go Hoyas! Go Huskies! Go where, non-descript?

That's what I'll do today: Make lists of pros and cons, costs versus freebies, which offers more interesting classes to take.

Part of me is becoming excited again to rejoin academia, the other part says Do you really want to be Non-Descript, Ph.D. Linguistics forever?

::::::::::::::::::

Between a no-work morning and two letters of acceptance, I can't think of a better way to start the day.

What I'd prefer though is that the good feelings genesised from inside and not outside but at this point I'll take what I can get.

(Always the recurrent fear that a stray reader will exclaim Genesised Isn't a Word and be disgusted. Perhaps appending an N.B. is a good idea.)

::::::::::::::::::::

I'm not really in a good mood if that's what you're thinking.

::::::::::::::::::::

Praxis. The action as opposed to the theory. The doing instead of the thinking. The action of doing after the thinking of doing. The concluding of the conclusion. The first line of the meat after the introduction.

It feels right to jump.

How's that for free agency, Mal?

Whoo hoo!!!

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!