Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:00 p.m. - May 19, 2002
On weddings
I hate weddings. Too many happy people.

Drank too much wine for no good reason other than the strawberries were lucious and melting.

Sunday weddings suck because everyone rushes home to watch Six Feet Under instead of dancing under the lights.

Watched a great friend get married in a corner of the reception hall because the wind and rainstorm put a T-minus 10 minutes end to the outdoor wedding plans.

The pastor delivered the stale homily of the Beatitudes. Love is patient, love is kind, love is slow to anger. Much preferred the first toast: To Simon, now the head of a new household, and to Stephanie, the neck, and we know the head can't do anything without the neck's permission.

Stale homily pastor said friends are a blessing and how wonderful it was to see so many people after the last wedding he officiated, at which there were only 6 guests. Substance over quantity I say.

Drove home quickly at sunset with the storm clouds dark grays and silvers and thought how fortunate I am to have people who care for me. Gloria and her husband the radio personality especially, trying still to play matchmaker with countless daughters and neices and me.

And Steph, she was beautiful and I was jealous but happy for her happiness and nothing bothered me until I passed the car full of my former colleages laughing and talking and I realized I was singing alone both physically and in spirit.

I miss Spec more than I care to admit.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!