Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:18 a.m. - June 23, 2002
Like a good neighbor, a frog is always there
Bathsheba encourages me to befriend young frogs and take them into my residence to resolve my friendless state.

::::::::::::::

Units 22-25 are on a cd-rom whose contents cannot be found either on a laptop or a desktop. This is my backup from the corrupted originals on the other cd-rom that induced tech rage.

Go figure.

:::::::::::::::

Amtrak may shut down Wednesday unless Congress heeds the prayers of millions of commuters. I am a commuter. I take MARC to Washington even though I despise the ride itself, but Union Station makes me want to return. Unless my train is at the far end of the platform, which then feels like I'm walking most of the way to Maryland, so why bother? I'd like to see the train service disabled with the same interest and glee I get picking scabs--just to see what it feels like.

::::::::::::::::

Tomorrow, today, I want to do something different. I will not spend hours trying to recover the files. I will not spend hours reading. I will not sit on my balcony and want to be home. I will not feel sorry for myself. I will not think work. I will not worry work. I will not count the days until I go home. I will not reconfigure the minutes until I walk into my classroom with 87 enrolled waiting for me to stumble and I will not anticipate feeling uneasy and intimidated and inadequate when I sense that my students realize I am their instructor and I will not care that my heart will pound and my mouth go dry in the moment before I begin.

Tomorrow I'll discover something new.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!