Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:09 p.m. - July 27, 2002
On grammar, the lexicon, and barbarians at the gate
Grading papers tonight.

People, please. Remember the following:

1) There: a place or destination, as in Look over there!

2) Their: a possessive, meaning That's theirs!

3) They're: a contraction of They are, referring to people or things (plural), meaning They're fools.

Example: Their homes are over there, and they're all painted yellow.

All languages change over time, influenced by a variety of factors that converge longitudinally so that one looks back and can't understand anything said or written yesterday, a position I'm finding with these papers. It's a sorry state when the English language is being changed by illiterate fools whose parents can afford $40,000 on tuition but not care enough to ensure their child learns to speak, read, and write coherently. Never trust language into the hands of the masses; wait, isn't that how we got the Great Vowel Shift and today's language instead of Chaucer's? That's right, so I'll shut the fuck up--but I will deduct 10 points off the top for the inconvenience of reminding me who's the language boss.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!