Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7:31 a.m. - July 30, 2002
I am Jason
There is an advertising campaign on the train featuring beautiful faces and descriptions of who they are; the one below is my favorite:


I am Sarah

Baker of gourmet scones

Homemaker

Bather of puppies and gerbils

Mother

Wife in love

Eater of crab apples

I like reading the small poster for its simplicity. I don't understand the purpose of the ad itself since I refuse to look next to it at the sponsor for fear it's Tide detergent or MetLife, but it makes me think about what I want from my own life. There are my secret wants, the things I daydream about learning and doing, like developing a skill that has nothing to do with anything else I do and being either good or bad at it, but love doing it all the same.

My poster would read:

I am Jason

Skydiver

Photographer

Amateur vintner

Specializes in restoration of old homes

Bookbinder

Lays on grass without a blanket

Climber of trees

That's what I'd like.

It's all about making plans, setting goals, and executing for success. The skydiving is one of those wants you hang onto since childhood; some do it, some don't. I want to do it. As for photography, I don't even own a camera, but how often have I come across gravestones I'd like to remember or decaying barns in the mountains--or the outhouse in West Virginia painted pink--and wished I had both a camera and the skill to use it?

I'm envious of those who have an inspiration and achieve.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!