Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:27 p.m. - October 20, 2002
Grab what you can and flee
Horror.

Sister informs me of my mother's surprise plot: A week-long visit, chez moi.

Quickly planning get-away trip. Must be far.

Bathsheba, let's talk.

:::::::::::::::

Shame registers, though not in sufficient quantity to embrace my mother's plans.

A day or two I can handle; a week? Out of the question. She is the oil to my stove-top fire, the quillotine operator, stress and assured deliverer-of-unpleasantness incarnate.

I had lunch with her while I was in DC; what more can she possibly want? I had Thanksgiving with her last year; there were enough hugs and family-values to last a lifetime, if you're into alternative family structure and dynamics.

:::::::::::::::::::::

I'm putting together two papers for the big national conference in April. Yeah, I don't know why either.

That's untrue.

It makes me feel good, that's why.

Tsk, tsk. External validation.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!