Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

5:30 p.m. - November 26, 2002
Simple joys
Chez grandmere and the weather cannot be any more ideal, Mt. Rainier more imposing, my grandmother's role as raconteuse superb.

Missing are my brother and sister, how I wish we could be together. Grandmother pledged the piano to me and I protested dutifully, thinking siblings may suspect more than coincidence in Jason There + Deciding Who Gets What, but accepted when she said if it wasn't me, then it will be the second cousin's nephew. Found talk about possessions morbid but grandmother laughed and said it was better to decide now than after dementia sets in; at the doctor's today I waited while she had her examination and made small talk with a woman amazed at how young my grandmother looks and it is true, for her age she's carrying on just fine.

But still. It tugs to think about the future.

Grandmother decided to move into Seattle itself and is debating the merits of Wallingford, Queen Anne, Laurelhurst. Likely contender: That which has views and a hairdresser's a few blocks away. Downsizing to a two-bedroom because she's feeling less able to maintain like before. If it keeps her mentally and physically alert, I'm all for it.

Tomorrow is Bathsheba. I wonder how that will go.

Hope my joy rubs off. I'm happy. I've missed home and grandma.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!