Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:01 p.m. - April 11, 2005
Oh
Three things:

1. Was stuck at Denver International from 8:30 a.m. Sunday morning until 1:40 p.m. Monday afternoon. Saw a real-live blizzard take the airport hostage, giving me plenty of time to think and be bored.

2. Und unerwartet, empfing ich ein Geschenk von fern, gesendet durch einen Freund, der einen speziellen Platz in meinem Herzen h�lt. Zwei Geschenke: Ein Buch und ein voicemail in ihrer s�ssen Stimme, die ich seit unserem ersten Telefonanruf �ber dem Ozean genossen habe. Wie und warum bin ich so gl�cklich? Aber ich mu� die Lektion erlernen und meine Hand verl�ngern. Ich mu� nicht vor nichts Angst so lang haben, wie Sie nicht mein atrocious Deutsches beheben! Es ist sp�t und ich kann nicht denken, um die St�rungen zu beheben, aber ich w�rde ruhig die gleichen Fehler machen, selbst wenn ich nicht m�de war. Das Buch, der Buchstabe und der Telefonanruf beeinflu�ten mich unerme�lich. Ich bin nicht angemessen, die Empf�nger Ihrer Gro�z�gigkeit und freundlichen Geistes zu sein, aber ich danke Ihnen f�r seine Freundschaft, die Hand, die Sie auf mich verl�ngern und f�r das Geben nicht oben auf mir (wie ich sage dieses auf Deutsch? Ich verwende das falsche Idiom, ich wei�. Yuck. I'm confusing myself.) Ich wei�, da� mein Deutsch rostig ist - wieviele St�rungen gibt es? L�cheln!

3. Perceptions, perceptions: What to make of them? Was talking to Joel about the upcoming trip to Dallas - are we going to meet? - when his friend muttered something about me and closet doors, a half-laugh snort in the background. That Joel would tell a friend about one of my most personal shames, one of the more pressing reminders of my childhood that has not faded or yielded one inch from its hold over me, hurt. His friend laughed at my hurt and my shame. And perhaps the manner in which this personal information was shared influenced the laugh - surely the details behind this preoccupation of mine were not shared and I thus cannot take the injury personally. But I do. That Joel found this part of me amusing enough to share with a friend hit me where I never let people in, the worst place. I am profoundly disappointed. Retreat and retrench.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!