Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:00 a.m. - January 20, 2004
On limos and sisters and The Great Idiot, her boyfriend
My sister calls to say she�s in a limo en route to the airport for a quick trip to Hawaii with The Great Idiot, her boyfriend.

Can we say proposal, anyone? If not, I will be surprised given The Great Idiot�s request: That I teach him enough ASL so that he can ask my father for permission. He signed up to take an ASL class but dropped it after two days � why, you ask? Because he didn�t understand why the (Deaf) teacher didn�t talk and sign at the same time. Yes, he�s not too bright at all, but that�s long been documented on my end. He�s been dating my sister for more than 6 years and he still doesn�t know how to sign hello, and he wants to learn enough to ask permission? I can only do so much.

Despite my misgivings about the quality of his DNA, I said yes and will help him out.

It is not above me to sabotage or be obstructive � No! The eyebrows go up when the hand goes down! Wrong! That�s a dirty sign! No! See, there�s this aspect of ASL called non-manual signals and one without the other negates meaning so do it again! What, you can�t wiggle your ears and nose simultaneously? Then damn, Great Idiot, you�re never going to do this . . .

Of course, one doesn�t need to wiggle ears in ASL, but he doesn�t know this.

:::::::::::::::::::::::::::

I told Ryan II he can sleep over tonight � okay, fine: I asked if he would and he said yes. I figure a straightforward tactic � exposure � is better than avoidance, but I�m already worrying.

I like him a lot; he is growing on me. This could be good or bad.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!