Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7:58 a.m. - November 10, 2003
Home, blah, this entry is not worth your time yet I write because I'm relieved
Delayed in Chicago last night and we all know the stories about uncomfortable chairs, fluorescent lights, worrying about theives making off with your bags, and wishing ill-will on those responsible for personal discomfort. At least I got a seat and I wonder about everybody else making connections on the (delayed by 2 hours) flight from Montreal. Missed the original flight back to San Jose and the agent was talking about a 10:15 flight this morning but she pulled through and here I am. Good to be home, even better to have several Happy Birthday renditions on the machine - thanks, Maya and somebody else I can't identify - and a gift certificate to Barnes and Noble.

And it's warm here, 60 degrees forecast. Nice, eh?

Yesterday in Montreal a woman came up to me and said I should smile more because there were many things to be happy for. Of course, she was passing something out and had to be inquisitive / nice / cheerful but thought about my smiling habits when I'm on the streets. I don't think I smile often enough and perhaps I consider such to be an invitation or disarmament. I don't know. I'd say I smile often but maybe not.

I'm rambling because I'm tired and hungry but no milk in the refrigerator and I've already slept enough. Yeah, tangents, fragments, all that. I'm just glad to be home, relieved I did well, stored up enough compliments to tide me through the doldrums for a while.

I would return to Montreal in a different season. One woman, a qu�becoise, asked if I could present solely en fran�ais and that's a worry for another time but a tantalizing challenge. But during the spring; I've had enough of that nasty combo of cold weather and not enough layers. One thing I noticed out of the corner of my eye was how gay-friendly that city seems. The city or its tourist commission, I don't know, but I felt like I was in a (much colder) San Francisco except for the hills, the Golden Gate, the heat.

Jesus this entry sucks. Time to borrow the dog and go for a walk to hopefully encourage gravity to reclaim my ass and decompress the seat-cushion contour it now features.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!