Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:45 p.m. - April 27, 2003
Brief glimpse of my secret place
Went to church this morning and absorbed stellar exegesis complete with a live demo of the burning bush and Man (in guise of candle and paper) to highlight the role of Christ�s provision of intimacy and literal rapprochement. Intimacy, rapprochement, the privilege of approaching our patient God; I�ve been reflecting on the themes all day.

I�m glad I went.

A new Messianic congregation has formed and I�ll check it out soon. As much as I enjoy the Christian liturgy, I miss the Jewish elements of worship, particularly the sh�ma. I remember how excited I was when I found a congregation in Seattle where the service was in Hebrew; it felt like coming home.

So with much on my mind, I went up to my secret place to read and think. I brought along the digital camera I bought on Friday and while the shots are amateurish, I�m excited. Purchased the camera on Friday, felt guilty all day Saturday, opened the box and piddled before going to church. I�m glad I did something for myself � note: original locution had �selfish� following �something�; it�s that guilt incurred by luxuries and spending money on myself.

My secret place is literally a hidden glen and in all the years I�ve come here, I�ve never encountered anybody else remotely near. The glen is verdant year-round, even during the summer, thanks to a creek and being nestled. It�s all mine � I�ve never even come across a tarantula during Indian summer�s mating season. I�ve only brought Spec and A[deleted]a there � and with her, it was at night so she couldn�t find her way back.

My Reading Tree:

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!