Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:14 p.m. - May 31, 2003
It's too late to be couth so uncouth in disguise I will be
Shannon is supposed to call me; she's here in San Francisco and the plan is to meet up. Shannon, call me. I figure she's out running around, taking in the salt breezes and the green trees, heading towards the water. If you lived in Las Vegas and came to SF, wouldn't you?

::::::::::::::::::::

Disturbing interaction just minutes ago as I drove into the cul-de-sac. The new - new qualified as I-haven't-spoken-to-them-yet/don't-know-their-names other than the husband's afflicted with Hairybackism and the wife is Gloriously, Pendulously Pregnant - neighbor man was outside with his daughter and I slowed down since I am a conscientious driver. I made the deliberate effort to wave in the friendly suburban manner and Mr. Hairyback looked positively stunned, I-kid-you-not looked behind him, looked puzzled, then manufactured a big wave and smile back.

This is bugging me. He is so accustomed to me being - what? Unfriendly? Reserved? Forboding? what? - me that he was thrown off by a simple neighborly wave? The real substance is how I interact with people, I know. And I swore when they moved in that I'd introduce myself, be friendly; given that there are 5 houses in the cul-de-sac I'm not expecting block parties but knowing names would be expected, right? Unfortunately I never got around to introducing myself that now it's moot given they've been here for months - at least since the fall. Were I to play neighborly now, it would be as transparent as my brother calling simply to say Hello.

No more being down. Repeat often.

It's working; this morning I wrote 9 pages. Go me.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!